Warbat Bil Ashta

IMG_4076.jpg

Diwali is around the corner and my heart won’t stop dancing! I love this time of the year! No work, “timeplease” on worries, fun dinners with families, it’s like the world becomes eutopia for a few days! Anyways, with all this fun and frolicking comes the best part, which is all that sugar! Diwali is like the “hallpass” I give to myself for indulging(responsibly though).

All these family dinner parties require quite a lot of sweat and I was determined to find something that didn’t give me dehydration. I don’t know what made me turn to the middle east, but I’m glad I did.

I’ve never used filo pastry, which let me tell you is the best thing they have given the world! A two minute filling and some stuffing later I was ready to shove my sweets in the oven. A five minute bake, a sugar syrup drizzle and I was done!

Warbat Bil Ashta uses a custard filling inside filo pastry. I have, instead, used a paneer based filling, just to give it some Indian-ness.

Hope you enjoy it!

Warbat Bil Ashta

Makes 12

Ingredients

  • 4 sheets of filo pastry
  • 100g paneer/mawa
  • 100g ground sugar (divided use)
  • less than 1/8 tsp cardamom powder
  • 100ml water
  • 1tsp rose water
  • ghee
  • ground pistachios

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven at 180Β°C and line a baking tray with parchment paper.
  2. Prepare the filling by mixing the paneer, half of the sugar(50g), and cardamom powder and keep it aside.
  3. To make the simple syrup, combine water and the rest of the sugar(50g) and heat it on a medium heat. Boil it until the mixture comes to a single thread consistency. Add the rose water once you take it off the heat.
  4. Prepare the filo pastry by stacking 4 sheets of filo pastry one on top of the other and brushing each layer with a generous amount of ghee.
  5. Cut the filo sheets into squares of 8cmx8cm.
  6. Take a teaspoon full of the paneer filling and put it in the centre of the squares. Fold all four corners of the square towards the center.
  7. Once they are all ready, place them on the lined baking sheet and bake at 180Β°C for about 5 minutes or until they turn golden brown.
  8. When they are baked, remove them from the oven and drizzle them with a generous amount of syrup.
  9. Top them with ground pistachios as garnish.
Leave a Reply

