DIY Pumpkin Spice

Raise your hands if you thought pumpkin spice had actual pumpkin in it. *sheepishly raise my hand* Turns out it doesn’t! I really wanted to try out desserts using pumpkin spice but couldn’t find the spice anywhere here in Bombay. The next logical thing to do was to just make my own. I anticipated some particular variety of pumpkin, dehydrated and churned into a fine powder mixed with a blend of other spices. I mentally prepared myself for researching the easiest dehydrating methods using everyday kitchen equipment. You can imagine my surprise when I found out that all I had to do was mix some ground spices and I was on step closer to my desserts! How easy is that! And cheap too, really!

fullsizerender-2

DIY Pumpkin Spice

Ingredients

  • 11/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/8 tsp mace (javitri in hindi, optional)

Instructions

  1. Mix it all up. Thats it!
Leave a Reply

